Tuesday, May 14, 2019

Notes from Board of Education Meeting, 5/14/19

The Board of Education meeting on Tuesday, May 14 will be re-broadcast on Comcast Channel 96, Verizon FIOS Channel 12 and is available via webstream at http://www.ccboe.com/ . To view the full agenda and the various reports, please visit BoardDocs .

The below notes are my personal notes and are not intended to be all-inclusive or official minutes for the Board of Education meetings and are provided as a request from my supporters and the general public in a personal effort to be more transparent. Although I have diligently tried to make these notes as unbiased and accurate as possible, I am only human and do make mistakes.

Executive session – 11 a.m.  
Call to order – 1 p.m. - Pledge of Allegiance, Maurice J. McDonough High School
Recognition – student state award winners, 2018-19 student liaisons
Superintendent’s update - Report
Correspondence/Board Member updates
  • Battle-Lockhart - Attened Commissioners Meeting on Fresh Start Academy and School Allocations; CCPS Town Hall; MABE Committee; Fresh Start Tour; Career day
  • Brown - AP Celebration Westlake; AVID Graduatiuon; ESOL Community Night; Fresh Start Academy Tour
  • Hancock - Transportation Facility Tour; Ironman Pinewood Derby race; LifeSkills Visit at farm
  • Wilson - AVID graduation 61 students $7.3M scholarships; McDonough Play "In the Heights"; TSHS Student Government Meeting; Project Graduation; ESOL Community Night; PAC Meeting; Visit schools for teacher appreciation; MD State Board meeting.
Education Association of Charles County update - Report

American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees update - Report

Student Board Member update - Report

Discipline Review Committee suggestions: cell phone policy and dress code - Report

  • Dress Code
    • Abell - not comfortable changing fingertips to fists
    • Lukas - how to measure
    • Battle-Lockhart - no to fists
    • Wilson - student opinion
    • students - want fists
    • abell - asked students to stand and demonstrate
    • Lukas - leggings...include opaque wording
    • Battle-Locklhart - Mid hip pants?
    • Lukas - #15 - school sponsored events...only for participating students, not spectators
    • Patel - disrupting/distracting vs dress code
  • Cell Phone
    • Hancock - need to ensure enforcement
2020-21 school calendar - Report
  • Battle-Lockhart - why cant we change the 19-20 SY
  • Hancock - time for public to weigh in
  • Lukas - start even earlier than 8/31?
  • Student - not enough recognition for the heritage months
  • Hancock - workload; 190 days is contract with union.
  • Lukas - possible longer school year with more breaks
Early childhood programs - Report
New textbooks for career and technology education (CTE) programs Reports
Project status update - Report
Educational Facilities Master Plan - Report
Contract for Eva Turner Elementary Schools Renovations - Report
Pilot compost program at Piccowaxen Middle School and Dr. Thomas L. Higdon Elementary School - Report
Unfinished business - None
New business - None

Future agenda items

  • Battle-Lockhart - Review 8000 series; miscommunication
  • Hancock - Review fundraising for extracurricular activities
  • Abell - Previous agenda requests (Special Education stats and Bridge Program caomparisn to other districts
Recognition – 4:15 p.m.
  • Ruth Ann Hall Scholarship Awards
    • Theodore G. Davis Middle School - Deonta Greer, grade 6, nominated by Cameron Ashbaugh; Nicholas Fink-Mellerson, grade 7, nominated by Marjorie Childs; Jaylen Chisley, grade 8, nominated by Wendie Newcamp
    • John Hanson Middle School - Mauricio Flores Soto, grade 6, nominated by Stefanie Buzby; Naydelin Lemus-Mendez, grade 7 nominated by Stefanie Buzby; Diamond Venson, grade 8, nominated by Diane Fisher & Victoria Davenport
    • Matthew Henson Middle School - Chinemerem Nwigwe, grade 6, nominated by Heather White and Elizabeth Medina; Charlene Carlos, grade 7, nominated by Mrs. Claytor-Stanislas; Cornelius Dukes, grade 8, nominated by Heather White and Elizabeth Medina
    • Mattawoman Middle School - Nayeli Lovo Guevara, grade 8, nominated by Amy Miller; Edwin Urias Santa Maria, grade 8, nominated by Amy Miller and Margot Savoy; Axe Velasquez Martinez, grade 8, nominated by Amy Miller
    • Milton M Somers Middle School - Samantha Best, grade 7, nominated by Natalie Gilliom and Kristen Barrett
    • General Smallwood Middle School - Ky’Mari Bowman, grade 6, nominated by Matthew Newcamp; Christopher Pikolycky, grade 8, nominated by Kristi Wicevic-Rust
    • Benjamin Stoddert Middle School - Devontae Russell, grade 6, nominated by Ronnie Richmond; Jamiya Price, grade 8, nominated by Christina Toomer
  • ResolutionWashington Post Principal of the Year: Kathy Perriello, Henry E. Lackey High School
  • Students
    • Danny Beverly, Jr., senior; Academic Achievement; North Point High School; Principal: Dan Kaple
    • Tyrone Hudson, Jr., eighth grade; Personal Responsibility; Mattawoman Middle School; Principal: Sonia Blue
    • Terra Newcamp, fifth grade; Career Readiness; Walter J. Mitchell Elementary School; Principal: Nicholas Adam
    • Mariah Carter, fifth grade; Academic Achievement; Mary B. Neal Elementary School; Principal: Deborah Brown
  • Employees
    • Melissa Palmer, education careers teacher, North Point
    • Kimberly Stackhouse-Isaac, math teacher, Mattawoman
    • Corey Specht, fifth-grade teacher, Mitchell
    • Julie Glorioso, special education teacher, Neal
Public Forum – 6 p.m.

  • Sean Heyl - Teacher/Parent.  Discipline.  classrooms will be impacted by changes.  disciplin matrix and changes will make teachers more counselors than teachers.  Thanks for hearing us.
Action items

  • Minutes
Motion to approve the minutes 4/9/19 Meeting by Abell; Second by Wilson
Yes = Abell, Battle-Lockhart, Brown, Hancock, Lukas, McGraw Wilson

Motion to approve the minutes 4/29/19 Meeting by Abell; Second by Brown
Yes = Abell, Battle-Lockhart, Brown, Hancock, McGraw Wilson; Abstain = Lukas

Motion to approve the minutes 4/29/19 Town Hall by Abell; Second by Hancock
Yes = Abell, Battle-Lockhart, Brown, Hancock, McGraw Wilson; Abstain = Lukas

  • Personnel

Motion to approve the minutes by Lukas; Second by Abell

Yes = Abell, Battle-Lockhart, Brown, Hancock, Lukas, McGraw Wilson
  • FY 2019 Intercategory budget transfer request
Motion to approve the minutes by Abell; Second by Lukas

Yes = Abell, Battle-Lockhart, Brown, Hancock, Lukas, McGraw Wilson

No comments: