Monday, June 12, 2017

The Board of Education’s next monthly meeting is Tuesday, June 13 at the Jesse L. Starkey Administration Building on Radio Station Road in La Plata. The public portion of the meeting begins at 1 p.m. and student and staff recognition starts at 4:30 p.m. The meeting is televised live on Comcast Channel 96 and Verizon FiOS Channel 12 and is rebroadcast throughout the week.
Board meetings are also streamed live on the school system website at Select the live streaming image displayed in the center of the home page. The following is a tentative meeting agenda and is subject to change.

Executive session – 12 p.m.

Call to order – 1 p.m. - Pledge of Allegiance, Westlake High School JROTC unit

Swearing-in of new Student Member to the Board

Recognition of student state winners – Unified track, MESA, SkillsUSA, and track and field

Contract vote/signing – American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees and Education Association of Charles County

Superintendent’s update

Reports of officers/boards/committees

  • Correspondence/Board Member updates
  • Education Association of Charles County update
  • American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees update
  • Student Board Member update
  • Initiatives to support positive learning environments
  • Special education case management pilot update
  • CIP update
  • Summer projects
  • Redistricting update
  • FY 2018 operating budget
Unfinished business
  • Policy 5000 series
New business and future agenda items
  • New business – FY 2018 out-of-county tuition rates; daily and hourly wage rates
Recognition – 4:30 p.m.
  • Resolution – Washington Post Teacher of the Year Awards program: Kelly Lundeen, third-grade teacher, Dr. James Craik Elementary School
  • Charles County Teacher of the Year: Denise Childers, English teacher, La Plata High School
  • Outstanding Vice Principal of the Year Award: Belinda Shatley, vice principal, Theodore G. Davis Middle School
  • Outstanding Support Staff Awards: Travis Harman, roof mechanic, Maintenance Shop; Barbara Tillman, secretary to the principal, Berry Elementary School; Gail Slaughter, food service manager, Henry E. Lackey High School; Jacqueline Douglas, kindergarten instructional assistant, Dr. James Craik Elementary School; and David Troxel, computer analyst, Jesse L. Starkey Administration Building
Public Forum – 6 p.m.

Action items
  • Minutes
  • Personnel
  • FY 2018 operating budget
  • Educational Facilities Master Plan
  • Elementary school redistricting

No comments: