Tuesday, October 09, 2012

Redistricting Committee Selected

Members of the Charles County Public Schools high school redistricting committee were selected today by the Charles County Board of Education. Seven committee members were chosen in a random drawing that included names from each middle and elementary school, as well as community members who applied to serve. Today's drawing selected two representatives at the elementary school level, two representatives at the middle school level and three representatives from the Charles County community. The following members were selected:
  • Betty Tayman, Dr. Gustavus Brown Elementary School;
  • LaCharles Earle, Eva Turner Elementary School;
  • Karen Haskins, Mattawoman Middle School;
  • Kristopher Foote, Milton M. Somers Middle School;
  • Joanna Wilson, community member;
  • David Cooksey, community member; and
  • James Hooper, community member.
Those committee members selected today will work with a representative from each of the county's six high schools, as well as school system and county staff, on the high school redistricting committee. Each high school advertised the opportunity to represent the school as part of the redistricting committee, and each high school principal held a public drawing to randomly select their representative. The following members were selected at the high school level:
  • Tawanda Rooney, Henry E. Lackey High School;
  • Cindy Arnone, La Plata High School;
  • Suzanne McCarthy, North Point High School;
  • Suzann Martin, Thomas Stone High School; and
  • Christina Adeboyejo, Westlake High School.
McDonough's rep will be selected at a public meeting tonight.

No comments: