Wednesday, May 11, 2016

Notes from Board of Education Meeting, 5/10/16

The Board of Education Meeting on Tuesday, April 19 will be re-broadcast on Comcast Channel 96, Verizon FIOS Channel 12 and is available via webstream at . To view the full agenda and the various reports, please visit BoardDocs .

The below notes are my personal notes and are not intended to be all-inclusive or official minutes for the Board of Education meetings and are provided as a request from my supporters and the general public in a personal effort to be more transparent. Although I have diligently tried to make these notes as unbiased and accurate as possible, I am only human and do make mistakes.
With that being said, my most sincere apologies for not taking detailed notes during this session.  I was not feeling well and it took everything I had to concentrate on the meeting and ask questions but just could not keep up with the notes as well. 
Executive session– 12 p.m.

Call to order – 1 p.m. - Pledge of Allegiance, Henry E. Lackey High School JROTC

Superintendent’s update - Superintendent’s Report 05-10-16[1].docx (15 KB)

Correspondence/Board Member updates

Education Association of Charles County update - 2016-05-10 Board of Ed report.pdf (42 KB)

Student Board Member update - SMOB report 11.pdf (120 KB)

Career Advancement Program partnership with College of Southern Maryland - Career Advancement PPT (2).pdf (521 KB)

Project status update - Copy of Construction status-April 2016.pdf (228 KB)

Dr. Samuel A. Mudd Elementary School transition update

Update on transportation study

Educational Facilities Master Plan - EFMP Report Item.pdf (827 KB)

Overview of summer opportunities - Summer Programs2016.pdf (343 KB)

Proposed financial literacy workshops - Proposed Financial Literacy.pdf (521 KB)

Plan for how state champions are recognized -

Unfinished business

New business

Future agenda items

Recognition – 4:30 p.m.
  • Resolution: Washington Post Principal of the Year: Sonia B. Jones, Mattawoman Middle School
  • Parent Involvement Matters Award (PIMA): Accepting: Thomas Gordon, volunteer, Indian Head Elementary School
  • Students - Brady Keech, fifth grade, Academic Achievement, Walter J. Mitchell Elementary School, Principal: Sabrina Robinson-Taylor; Monet Fisette, fifth grade, Personal Responsibility, Mary B. Neal Elementary School, Principal: Deborah M. Brown; Aliah Brown, eighth grade, Academic Achievement, Mattawoman Middle School, Principal: Sonia Jones; Daphine Henderson, twelfth grade, Career Readiness, North Point High School, Principal: Michael Simms
  • Employees - Martin Margolis, Jr. physical education teacher, Mitchell; Katrina Garvey, secretary to the principal, Neal; Margot Savoy, language arts teacher, Mattawoman; Joseph Greenawalt, computer science teacher, North Point; Kelley Clancy, instructional assistant, STAY, F.B. Gwynn Center, Principal: Daphne Burns Recognition of 2015-16 student liaisons
Public Forum – 6 p.m.

Action items
  • Minutes
Motion to accept the Support Staff Forum minutes by Kelly; Second by Palko
Yes = Crawford, Kelly, Lukas, Marshall, McGraw, Palko; Abstain = Abell

Motion to accept the Town Hall Forum minutes by Lukas; Second by Marshall
Yes = Crawford, Kelly, Lukas, Marshall, Palko; Abstain = Abell, McGraw

Motion to accept the Work Session minutes by Kelly; Second by Marshall
Yes = Crawford, Kelly, Lukas, Marshall, Palko; Abstain = Abell, McGraw

Motion to accept the Board Meeting minutes by Crawford; Second by Abell
Yes = Abell, Crawford, Kelly, Lukas, McGraw, Palko; Abstain = Marshall
  • Personnel
Motion to accept the Personnel by Abell; Second by Marshall
Yes = Abell, Crawford, Kelly, Lukas, Marshall, McGraw, Palko
  • New world language textbooks
Motion to accept the Textboks by Kelly; Second by Palko
Yes = Abell, Crawford, Kelly, Lukas, Marshall, McGraw, Palko
  • FY 2016 inter-category budget transfer request
Motion to accept the budget transfer request by Lukas; Second by Palko
Yes = Abell, Crawford, Kelly, Lukas, Marshall, McGraw, Palko

No comments: