Tuesday, January 10, 2012

Notes from Board of Education Meeting, 1/10/12

The Board of Education Meeting on Tuesday, January 10 will be re-broadcast on Comcast Channel 96, Verizon FIOS Channel 12 and is available via webstream at http://www.ccboe.com/ . To view the full agenda and the various reports, please visit BoardDocs.

The below notes are my personal notes and are not intended to be all-inclusive or official minutes for the Board of Education meetings and are provided as a request from my supporters and the general public in a personal effort to be more transparent. Although I have diligently tried to make these notes as unbiased and accurate as possible, I am only human and do make mistakes.

Executive session - 10 a.m.

Call to order - 1 p.m. - Pledge of Allegiance, Henry E. Lackey High School JROTC

Election of Chairman and Vice Chairman

Motion to elect Wise as Chair by Cook; Second by Abell
Yes = Abell, Bowie, Cook, Lukas, Pedersen, Wade, Wise
Motion to elect Cook as Vice Chair by Lukas; Second by Wise
Yes = Abell, Bowie, Cook, Lukas, Pedersen, Wade, Wise

Motion to elect Lukas as Vice Chair by Bowie; Second by Pedersen
Lukas respectfully removed his nomination
Superintendent's update to the Board - Spoke of Cunningham's passing. Read report

Correspondence/Board member updates
  • all took turns speaking of Mr. Cunningham
  • Lukas - visit to schools, thank you
  • Bowie - anti-bullying correspondence from parents; parents' rights; forum at Jaycees on 1/23
  • Lukas - donation of tickets to the Nutcracker ballet in DC for under-privileged children...thank you
  • Richmond - Ms. Dorsey and Mr. Cornette will be in charge of school operations
Education Association of Charles County update - read report

Student Board member update - see report

School administration - enrollment update
  • 9/30 enrollment = 26,778
  • 12/15 enrollment = 26,924
  • greatest growth in African-American, Hispanic, and multi-racial ethnic groups
  • greatest growth at Diggs, Davis, Neal, and North Point
CIP update - see report

ESOL program and Bunkyo trip - See Report

Policy #3430, Accounts: Opening and closing accounts - See Report

FY 2012 budget update - See report - breakfast

Legislative update
  • no increase in state funding, but will remain steady; 7 counties in MD did NOT meet maintenance of effort
  • teacher retirement may be put on counties
Unfinished business - none

New business
  • Wade asked for our position on MLK Breakfast. Tickets are to be bought individually if we want to attend.
Future Agenda items - None

Recognition - 4:30 p.m.
  • Students - Caleb Caine, fifth grade, Academic Achievement, Daniel of St. Thomas Jenifer Elementary; Jaylyn Pinchem, fifth grade, Personal Responsibility, Dr. Samuel A. Mudd Elementary; Micaela Patin, fifth grade, Career Readiness, William B. Wade Elementary School; Paul Adams, II, eighth grade, Academic Achievement, Matthew Henson Middle School
  • Staff - Lauren Washington, first grade teacher, Jenifer; Velta Williams, Secretary to the Principal, Mudd; Audre Codrington, school psychologist IA, Wade; Immaculada Dove, special education, IA, F.B. Gwynn Educational Center; Michael Forrest, science teacher, Henson
  • Resolutions: African American History Month - Accepting: AVID advocates and students; Jada Proctor, 7th grade and Michelle James, school counselor, General Smallwood Middle School; Loren Ward, 9th grade and Laura Buzzell, math teacher, Henry E. Lackey High School; Dielle McMillan, 11th grade, Daquan Patterson, 11th grade, and Jacqueline Cheaves, school counselor, Westlake High School
    Career and Technical Education Week: Accepting: Chitra Sharma, Chairperson, Charles County Commission for Women
    National School Counseling Week: Accepting: Michelle James, school couselor, General Smallwood Middle School; Wanda Proctor, school counselor, Benjamin Stoddert Middle School
  • La Plata High School Thespian Society
  • Nathan Freeman, winner of the 2011 Student Space Flight Experiments Program (SSEP) Space Shuttle Atlantis STS-135 mission patch design contest
Public Forum - 6 p.m. - None

Action items
  • Minutes
  • Motion to accept the Minutes by Cook; Second by Abell
    Yes = Abell, Bowie, Cook, Lukas, Pedersen, Wade, Wise
  • Personnel
  • Motion to accept Personnel by Pedersen; Second by Cook
    Yes = Abell, Bowie, Cook, Lukas, Pedersen, Wade, Wise

No comments: