Tuesday, June 01, 2010

REMINDER: Board Meeting, 06/01/10

The Board of Education's next monthly meeting is Tuesday, June 1, at the Jesse L. Starkey Administration Building on Radio Station Road in La Plata. The public portion of the meeting begins at 1 p.m. and recognition begins at 4:30 p.m. The meeting is televised live on Comcast Channel 96 and Verizon FiOS Channel 12, and is rebroadcast throughout the week. Program schedules for Channel 96 are available on the Charles County Public Schools Web site at www2.ccboe.com/publicinfo/channel96/schedule.cfm.

Executive session 12 p.m.

Call to order 1 p.m.

Pledge of Allegiance La Plata High School's JROTC unit

Swearing-in of new Student Board member


  • Westlake High School coed indoor track team
  • Maurice J. McDonough High School's unified track team
  • Indian Head Elementary School's Mathematics, Engineering and Science Achievement (MESA) team
  • SMART team, Henry E. Lackey High School
  • Alexander Smith, La Plata High School, Maryland 2010 Trigonometry Competition

Reports of officers/boards/committees

Superintendent's update

Action item

  • EACC/AFSME contract and signing

Correspondence/Board member updates

Education Association of Charles County update

Student Board Member update

CIP update

Unfinished business

New business and future agenda items

Recognition 4:30 p.m.

  • Maryland Retired School Personnel Association book donation
  • Students
  • 2009-10 Student Liaisons
  • Outstanding vice principal award
  • Outstanding support staff awards
  • Resolution Charles County Teacher of the Year Mark Howell, social studies teacher, Westlake High School
  • Resolution Washington Post Agnes Meyer Outstanding Teacher Award Jill Jowdy, physical education teacher, Dr. Thomas L. Higdon Elementary School
  • Recognition of Charles County Teacher of the Year nominees Joy Thompson, reading teacher, Milton M. Somers Middle School; Mary Long, reading resource teacher, Higdon; and Jennifer Gimmel, prekindergarten teacher, Williams A. Diggs Elementary School
  • Recognition of Washington Post Agnes Meyer Outstanding Teacher Award nominees Richard Ivanac, art teacher, Somers; Linda McLaughlin, foreign language teacher, North Point High School; Jo Anne Shelak, elementary teacher, Diggs; and Gina Tallon, mathematics teacher, Westlake
  • Employees' retirement resolution

Public Forum 6 p.m.

Action items

  • Minutes
  • Personnel
  • Educational facilities master plan
  • FY 2011 budget
  • Out-of-county tuition fees
  • Policy 3910 (debt management); 4740 (severance); 3320 (expenditure: purchasing procedures): 4820 (general policies and procedures: duties and responsibilities); and policy series 6000


No comments: